Narsinh Mehta: Poem 3 English 2 Versions

O Beloved

O beloved, well met and well matched, you are little as are we,
First grant your embrace my beloved, we shall bestow one too.  O Beloved . . . 1

The lovely ones trek long and quick to see such a beloved
Bestow embrace in secret lest some see us, dear beloved.  O Beloved . . . 2

You are young and I am young, near and far your sister hovers,
She’s your mother’s favorite, why would she ever heed us?  O Beloved . . . 3

What can my mother do, what my sister, to one in whom I do dwell,
Players with Narsinh’s Lord, what can they have to fear?   O Beloved . . . 4

Beloved

You and I meet, Beloved
Matched pair of innocents.
First, beloved, give embrace,
I shall give too, passionately.

Lovely women freely run
To meet such a lover.
Hide me in your embrace, beloved,
So none may see us.

Young as we are, in-laws interfere.
She’s the mother-in-law’s favorite
Why would she believe me?

When I dwell in her heart,
What can her in-laws do?
What is there to fear in
Playing with Narsinh’s lord?

About semiophile2010

word lover, meaning maniac, bilingual with metalingual interests, sometimes potter, poet, playwright, writer, mover to music, always a pontificator.
This entry was posted in My Writing, Narsinh Mehta and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

